Changes & Choices (2021)

  1. Me, myself and I
  2. Why is she still here
  3. She's dancing
  4. Choices
  5. Abandoned chapel (words and melody Ivory Stone)
  6. Moving
  7. Nothing new under the sun
  8. The other day
  9. She smiles

Changes & Choices is a conceptual album, in which the songs, connecting free tonal improvisations with a narrated story, form a drama about reminiscing about the past, letting go of the memories and emotions, and finding inner peace.

Continue reading

Dreaming with Eyes Wide Awake (2017)

1. Here Comes Autumn Again
2. No Cure
3. Where Do I Belong
4. Hello, How Are You Doing
5. She Wonders Why
6. Family Games
7. Day and Night
8. The House Is Quiet
9. Dreaming with Eyes Wide Awake
10. Yet Another Love Song
11. Time

Original songs telling stories within stories about brokenness, depression, and healing: light, elegant, subtle, yet utterly groovy and emotional with Latin spice and European space and more than a trace of NYC swing.

Continue reading

Doxology (Germany 2013, US 2015)

01. Doxology / Praise to the Lord, the Almighty
02. Come, let us join our cheerful songs
03. Come, thou bright and morning star
04. Ach Gott, vom Himmel sieh darein
05. Commit thou all thy griefs
06. Gott ist gegenwärtig
07. A mighty fortress is our God
08. Lord Jesus Christ, with us abide
09. O Haupt voll Blut und Wunden
10. Jesus lives, the victory's won
11. Holy God, we praise your name

Lutheran hymns of the 16th to 19th century remolded into modern jazz. Grammy-winning trumpeter Wallace Roney’s beautiful sound, Orrin Evans’ exquisite accompaniment and fierce piano improvisations, Steve Varner’s foundations on bass, and Vince Ector’s grooving and swinging drums put Misha’s vocals and arrangements into an intricate and tasteful framework of groove and sound. Church “standards” shine with joy and hope, love and longing for the Lord of all mankind. Produced by JD Walter, recorded and mixed at Samurai Hotel Studios (NY), artwork by Franzi Michaelis and Judith Fissler.

Yesterdays (2010)

01. Yesterdays (feat. Craig Handy)
02. Come Sunday
03. Leaving On A Jetplane (feat. Craig Handy)
04. The Shadow of Your Smile
05. Round Midnight (feat. Craig Handy)
06. When I Need You
07. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise
08. In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning
09. It Never Entered My Mind (feat. Craig Handy)
10. Slap That Bass
11. I've Grown Accustomed To Your Face
12. Somewhere Over the Rainbow

Misha arrangements and vocals. Recorded with Craig Handy (tenor sax), Jim Ridl (piano), Luquez Curtis (bass) and Vince Ector (drums) and produced by JD Walter in New York. This is not your usual selection of well-known jazz standards. Misha embellishes classics with new harmonies and rhythms and turns them into stunning new and intimate testimonies of life. Her accompanying musicians provide sensitive support as well as classy groovy improvisation.

Quadratur des Kreises (2008)

01. Lobet Ihn
02. So Lange Schon
03. Klagelied
04. Warum Nur Bin Ich So Traurig
05. Einer Dieser Tage / Vater Unser
06. Ich Liebe Dich, Herr
07. In Jener Nacht
08. Quadratur Des Kreises
09. Herr, Mach Mich Still
10. Segen
11. Was Bleibt
12. Eine Feste Burg Ist Unser Gott

In her third CD, Misha combines her own German Christian lyrics with a fusion of excellent jazz and popular music. The topic: believing in a loving God in a broken, sick world. Her songs are based on biblical psalms and accounts from the New Testament.

Christmas Jazz – Vom Leuchten der Sterne (2008)

01. Vom Leuchten Der Sterne (Misha)
02. Es Kommt Ein Schiff Geladen / Stille Nacht
03. Ihr Kinderlein Kommet
04. Süßer Die Glocken Nie Klingen
05. Am Weihnachtsbaume Die Lichter Brennen
06. Es Ist Ein Ros Entsprungen
07. Zu Bethlehem Geboren
08. Vom Himmel Hoch
09. Wiegenlied (Misha)
10. O Du Fröhliche
11. Jauchzet Ihr Himmel
12. Ich Steh An Deiner Krippen Hier

Salvation for all haters of Christmas songs is near: just in time for the Christmas celebration, Misha wipes the dust off German Christmas carols of the 15th to 19th century. Together with her excellent long-time accompanists Vladimir Nesterenko (piano and flute), Anton Revnjuk (bass) and David Tkebutshava (drums), she puts those old melodies into a new outfit. A feast for jazz enthusiasts, not only on Christmas.

Early Train (2006)

01. As If They Danced
02. Early Train
03. Love Holds On
04. Last Date With the City
05. Lisa
06. Little Stranger
07. Fools Games
08. Reflections
09. Slapstick Days
10. How Long

Funky, groovy, very relaxed vocal jazz! In her second CD, Misha once again manages to gather jazz artists that count among the best which Russia has to offer: Jakov Okun (piano), Anton Revnjuk (bass), Aleksandr Mashyn Schlagzeug (drums) and Ilya Prokrovsky (percussion).

With a Bit of Your Love (2004)

01. Stranded
02. Tough Decisions
03. With A Bit Of Your Love
04. Sceptic In Spain
05. Take Your Time
06. Breakfast On The Quay
07. The Island
08. Don't
09. Five Minutes
10. Darkness
11. Traces
12. On Grief
13. Glad

What happens when a German singer and songwriter in Moscow meets an English-language lyricist? The finest in exile jazz, contemplative, challenging, and expressive.

These original compositions (music by Misha, lyrics by Marion Otto) fuse jazz and poetry, emotions and sophistication. They are steeped in jazz tradition, while at the same time they combine various styles and techniques to produce something new and unusual, what one could call expat jazz. The singer has a clear, nimble voice with an impressive range of possibilities and means of expression: playful and sentimental, personal and cheeky, loving and critical. The musicians are popular and highly qualified Moscow artists who bring the compositions to life with their stylistic versatility.